personal-services · registry year 2024 · HQ MN
Cost Cutters Franchise
A Regis Corp brand operating in the personal-services sector, franchising since 1986. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Cost Cutters, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $96K – $318K
- Initial investment · Lower entry cost
- 4.0%
- Royalty rate · Below-average royalty
- 400
- Total locations · Mid-size network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry cost-cutters Cost Cutters
Cost Cutters needs $96K–$318K to open and charges a 4.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical personal-services franchise.
- LO $96K
- HI $318K
- FEE $25K
- ROY 4.0%
- UNT 400
- I19 Silent
- INV# #158/223
- UNT# #151/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Regis Salons ($100K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Cost Cutters (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Cost Cutters's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum -2.5% net unit growth (YoY) 0/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Cost Cutters's investment ranks nationally
Cost Cutters's listed Item 7 low of $96K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Cost Cutters vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$96,000 Lower than most lower than 72% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $25K
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
20 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- personal-services
- Subsector
- hair
- Founded
- 1982
- Franchising Since
- 1986
- Headquarters
- MN
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Cost Cutters
This Cost Cutters page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Cost Cutters.
Compact-network entry costs for Cost Cutters
Signature read: 400 locations · Item 7 low $96K
Cost Cutters, a Regis Corp franchise, has been franchising since 1986 - 4 years after the concept was founded in 1982 , currently with 400 total locations (400 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the personal-services sector, headquartered in MN. The listed total initial investment is $96K to $318K, recorded as a low-to-high range in the registry. The registry separately records a franchise-fee field of $25K; its summary does not reproduce every Item 7 line item.
Royalty payments here are set at 4.0% of gross sales. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Cost Cutters. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.
Cost Cutters's footprint shrank over the past year, down 2.5% with 20 closures on the record. The registry does not attribute the change to a cause or establish an operating or financial outcome.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Cost Cutters franchise cost?
How many Cost Cutters locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Cost Cutters franchise?
Related reading for Cost Cutters: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Cost Cutters has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Cost Cutters's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Cost Cutters , both outside HQ state MN : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($96K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (400 here).
What to do with this
Cost Cutters at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Cost Cutters scores 0/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $96K – $318K entry cost runs below the typical personal-services franchise.
- Ranks #158 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Regis Salons sits at a comparable investment level ($100K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |