Automotive · registry year 2024 · HQ TX
Jiffy Lube Franchise
A Shell Oil / Heartland Automotive brand operating in the automotive sector, franchising since 1979. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Jiffy Lube, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $238K – $509K
- Initial investment · Mid-range entry cost
- 3.5%
- Royalty rate · Below-average royalty
- 2,100
- Total locations · Large network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry jiffy-lube Jiffy Lube
Jiffy Lube needs $238K–$509K to open and charges a 3.5% royalty - an entry cost below the typical automotive franchise.
- LO $238K
- HI $509K
- ROY 3.5%
- UNT 2,100
- I19 Silent
- INV# #96/223
- UNT# #55/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Ziebart ($254K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Jiffy Lube (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Jiffy Lube's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum -0.9% net unit growth (YoY) 10/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Jiffy Lube's investment ranks nationally
Jiffy Lube's listed Item 7 low of $238K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Jiffy Lube vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$238,000 Around the middle lower than 43% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Ad Fund Rate
- 5.0%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
50 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Automotive
- Subsector
- oil change
- Founded
- 1979
- Franchising Since
- 1979
- Headquarters
- TX
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Jiffy Lube
This Jiffy Lube page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Jiffy Lube.
National footprint registry read for Jiffy Lube
Signature read: 2,100 locations · Item 7 low $238K
Jiffy Lube, a Shell Oil / Heartland Automotive franchise, has been franchising since 1979 , currently with 2,100 total locations (2,100 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the automotive sector, headquartered in TX. The registry records a total initial investment between $238K and $509K, recorded as a low-to-high range in the registry. A franchise-fee field is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.
Ongoing royalties run 3.5% of gross sales with a separate 5.0% national advertising-fund field; the two listed percentages total 8.5%. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Jiffy Lube. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.
Jiffy Lube's footprint shrank over the past year, down 0.9% with 50 closures on the record. This is a network-count observation only; the registry does not record reasons for openings or closures.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Jiffy Lube franchise cost?
How many Jiffy Lube locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Jiffy Lube franchise?
Related reading for Jiffy Lube: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Jiffy Lube has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Jiffy Lube's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Jiffy Lube , both outside HQ state TX : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($238K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (2,100 here).
What to do with this
Jiffy Lube at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Jiffy Lube scores 5/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $238K – $509K entry cost runs below the typical automotive franchise.
- Ranks #96 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Ziebart sits at a comparable investment level ($254K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |