Food & Beverage · registry year 2024 · HQ CA
Del Taco Franchise
A Del Taco Restaurants brand operating in the food & beverage sector, franchising since 1968. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Del Taco, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $839K – $2.0M
- Initial investment · Higher entry cost
- 5.0%
- Royalty rate · Mid-range royalty
- 580
- Total locations · Mid-size network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry del-taco Del Taco
Del Taco needs $839K–$2.0M to open and charges a 5.0% royalty - an entry cost above the typical food & beverage franchise.
- LO $839K
- HI $2.0M
- FEE $35K
- ROY 5.0%
- UNT 580
- I19 Silent
- INV# #38/223
- UNT# #133/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Panera Bread ($900K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Del Taco (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Del Taco's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum 0.9% net unit growth (YoY) 30/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Del Taco's investment ranks nationally
Del Taco's listed Item 7 low of $839K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Del Taco vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$839,000 Higher than most higher than 83% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $35K
- Ad Fund Rate
- 4.0%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
15 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Food & Beverage
- Subsector
- quick service restaurant
- Founded
- 1964
- Franchising Since
- 1968
- Headquarters
- CA
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Del Taco
This Del Taco page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Del Taco.
Higher-band investment fields for Del Taco
Signature read: 580 locations · Item 7 low $839K
Del Taco, a Del Taco Restaurants franchise, has been franchising since 1968 - 4 years after the concept was founded in 1964 , currently with 580 total locations (490 franchised, 90 company-owned; 84% of the recorded total is franchised) in the food & beverage sector, headquartered in CA. This editorial registry lists a total initial investment from $839K to $2.0M, using the registry's listed low and high fields. The registry separately records a franchise-fee field of $35K; its summary does not reproduce every Item 7 line item.
Ongoing royalties run 5.0% of gross sales with a separate 4.0% national advertising-fund field; the two listed percentages total 9.0%. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Del Taco. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.
Del Taco's network is expanding: unit count grew at a 0.9% net rate over the past year (20 openings, 15 closures). The count describes the latest reported period only; the underlying Item 20 tables provide the fuller disclosure context.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Del Taco franchise cost?
How many Del Taco locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Del Taco franchise?
Related reading for Del Taco: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Del Taco has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Del Taco's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Del Taco , both outside HQ state CA : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($839K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (580 here).
What to do with this
Del Taco at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Del Taco scores 15/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $839K – $2.0M entry cost runs above the typical food & beverage franchise.
- Ranks #38 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Panera Bread sits at a comparable investment level ($900K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |