Retail · registry year 2024 · HQ PA

GNC Franchise

A General Nutrition Centers brand operating in the retail sector, franchising since 1988. According to the 2024 FDD filing for GNC, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$55K – $300K
Initial investment · Lower entry cost
6.0%
Royalty rate · Above-average royalty
2,600
Total locations · Large network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry gnc GNC

GNC needs $55K–$300K to open and charges a 6.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical retail franchise.

  • LO $55K
  • HI $300K
  • FEE $40K
  • ROY 6.0%
  • UNT 2,600
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #191/223
  • UNT# #46/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: Hallmark ($40K)

GNC (this)$55KHallmark$40K7-Eleven$37KMinuteman Press$74KGreat Clips$137KSupercuts$138K
GNC Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest retail peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for GNC (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent GNC's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

0 F
  • Network momentum -1.9% net unit growth (YoY) 0/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where GNC's investment ranks nationally

GNC's listed Item 7 low of $55K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

GNC vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$55,000 Among the lowest lower than 87% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $55K – $300K
Franchise Fee
$40K

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

2,500
Franchised
100
Company-Owned
+50
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

-1.92% growth

100 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Sector
Retail
Subsector
nutrition
Founded
1935
Franchising Since
1988
Headquarters
PA
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare GNC against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · GNC

This GNC page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for GNC.

National footprint registry read for GNC

Signature read: 2,600 locations · Item 7 low $55K

GNC, a General Nutrition Centers franchise, has been franchising since 1988 - 53 years after the concept was founded in 1935 , currently with 2,600 total locations (2,500 franchised, 100 company-owned; 96% of the recorded total is franchised) in the retail sector, headquartered in PA. The listed total initial investment is $55K to $300K, recorded as a low-to-high range in the registry. A franchise-fee field of $40K is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.

Ongoing royalties run 6.0% of gross sales. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for GNC. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.

Network momentum is currently negative: GNC contracted by 1.9% year-over-year with 100 closures on the record. The percentage does not identify why the count changed or what it means for a specific location.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a GNC franchise cost?
The registry lists total initial investment of $55K to $300K for a GNC franchise. That includes an initial franchise fee of $40K. The listed ongoing royalty is 6.0% of gross sales.
How many GNC locations are there?
GNC's network totals 2,600 locations (2,500 franchisee-owned, 100 run by the company). That total is trending down, 1.9% net year-over-year.
What are the ongoing fees for a GNC franchise?
GNC charges a 6.0% royalty on gross sales. These listed fee fields are separate from the listed initial-investment range.

Related reading for GNC: How to Evaluate a Franchise , GNC has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

GNC among nearby retail registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 11 data points. -20000 locations0 locations20000 locations40000 locations60000 locations80000 locations100000 locations $0k$50k$100k$150k$200k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) GNCMinuteman PressHallmark7-ElevenGreat ClipsSupercutsThe UPS StoreFantastic SamsPak MailPostNetSnap-on Tools
GNC among nearby retail registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How GNC's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for GNC , both outside HQ state PA : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

GNC at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • GNC scores 0/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $55K – $300K entry cost runs below the typical retail franchise.
  • Ranks #191 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • Hallmark sits at a comparable investment level ($40K) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending