travel-hospitality · registry year 2024 · HQ GA
Holiday Inn Franchise
A IHG Hotels & Resorts brand operating in the travel-hospitality sector, franchising since 1953. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Holiday Inn, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $9.0M – $22.0M
- Initial investment · Higher entry cost
- 5.0%
- Royalty rate · Mid-range royalty
- 2,800
- Total locations · Large network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry holiday-inn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn needs $9.0M–$22.0M to open and charges a 5.0% royalty - an entry cost above the typical travel-hospitality franchise.
- LO $9.0M
- HI $22.0M
- FEE $50K
- ROY 5.0%
- UNT 2,800
- I19 Silent
- INV# #2/223
- UNT# #40/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Hampton Inn ($10.0M)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Holiday Inn (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Holiday Inn's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum 0.7% net unit growth (YoY) 28/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Holiday Inn's investment ranks nationally
Holiday Inn's listed Item 7 low of $9.0M against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Holiday Inn vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$9,000,000 Higher than most higher than 99% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $50K
- Ad Fund Rate
- 3.0%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
60 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- travel-hospitality
- Subsector
- mid scale hotel
- Founded
- 1952
- Franchising Since
- 1953
- Headquarters
- GA
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Holiday Inn
This Holiday Inn page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Holiday Inn.
Large-network capital outlay for Holiday Inn
Signature read: 2,800 locations · Item 7 low $9.0M
Holiday Inn, a IHG Hotels & Resorts franchise, has been franchising since 1953 - 1 years after the concept was founded in 1952 , currently with 2,800 total locations (2,800 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the travel-hospitality sector, headquartered in GA. The listed total initial investment is $9.0M to $22.0M, using the registry's listed low and high fields. A franchise-fee field of $50K is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.
Ongoing royalties run 5.0% of gross sales, plus a 3.0% national ad-fund field; the listed percentages sum to 8.0%. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Holiday Inn. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.
The unit count trend here is positive -- Holiday Inn posted 0.7% net growth year-over-year (80 openings, 60 closures). This is a reported network-size change, not a measure of profitability, demand, or franchisee outcomes.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Holiday Inn franchise cost?
How many Holiday Inn locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Holiday Inn franchise?
Related reading for Holiday Inn: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Holiday Inn has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Holiday Inn's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Holiday Inn , both outside HQ state GA : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($9.0M here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (2,800 here).
What to do with this
Holiday Inn at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Holiday Inn scores 14/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $9.0M – $22.0M entry cost runs above the typical travel-hospitality franchise.
- Ranks #2 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Hampton Inn sits at a comparable investment level ($10.0M) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |