Food & Beverage · registry year 2024 · HQ OR
The Human Bean Franchise
Operating in the food & beverage sector, franchising since 2002. According to the 2024 FDD filing for The Human Bean, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $268K – $770K
- Initial investment · Mid-range entry cost
- 6.0%
- Royalty rate · Above-average royalty
- 350
- Total locations · Small network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry the-human-bean The Human Bean
The Human Bean needs $268K–$770K to open and charges a 6.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical food & beverage franchise.
- LO $268K
- HI $770K
- FEE $30K
- ROY 6.0%
- UNT 350
- I19 Silent
- INV# #86/223
- UNT# #166/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Smoothie King ($263K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for The Human Bean (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent The Human Bean's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum 11.4% net unit growth (YoY) 100/100 · A
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where The Human Bean's investment ranks nationally
The Human Bean's listed Item 7 low of $268K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
The Human Bean vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$268,000 Around the middle lower than 39% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $30K
- Ad Fund Rate
- 2.0%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
10 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Food & Beverage
- Subsector
- coffee tea
- Founded
- 1998
- Franchising Since
- 2002
- Headquarters
- OR
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · The Human Bean
This The Human Bean page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for The Human Bean.
Small-network FDD fields for The Human Bean
Signature read: 350 locations · Item 7 low $268K
The Human Bean has been franchising since 2002 - 4 years after the concept was founded in 1998 , currently with 350 total locations (350 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the food & beverage sector, headquartered in OR. This editorial registry lists a total initial investment from $268K to $770K, recorded as a low-to-high range in the registry. A franchise-fee field of $30K is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.
Ongoing royalties run 6.0% of gross sales with a separate 2.0% national advertising-fund field; the two listed percentages total 8.0%. The Human Bean has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry. Item 19 disclosure is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule.
The Human Bean's network is expanding: unit count grew at a 11.4% net rate over the past year (50 openings, 10 closures). The registry records both the reported percentage and the count of openings and closures when those fields are available.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a The Human Bean franchise cost?
How many The Human Bean locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a The Human Bean franchise?
Related reading for The Human Bean: How to Evaluate a Franchise , The Human Bean has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How The Human Bean's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for The Human Bean , both outside HQ state OR : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($268K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (350 here).
What to do with this
The Human Bean at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- The Human Bean scores 50/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $268K – $770K entry cost runs below the typical food & beverage franchise.
- Ranks #86 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Smoothie King sits at a comparable investment level ($263K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |