Business Services · registry year 2024 · HQ NJ
Jackson Hewitt Franchise
A Corsair Capital brand operating in the business services sector, franchising since 1987. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Jackson Hewitt, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $47K – $96K
- Initial investment · Lower entry cost
- 5,700
- Total locations · Large network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry jackson-hewitt Jackson Hewitt
Jackson Hewitt needs $47K–$96K to open - an entry cost below the typical business services franchise.
- LO $47K
- HI $96K
- FEE $15K
- UNT 5,700
- I19 Silent
- INV# #198/223
- UNT# #24/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Money Mailer ($50K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Jackson Hewitt (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Jackson Hewitt's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum -1.8% net unit growth (YoY) 1/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Jackson Hewitt's investment ranks nationally
Jackson Hewitt's listed Item 7 low of $47K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Jackson Hewitt vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$47,000 Among the lowest lower than 90% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $15K
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
200 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Business Services
- Subsector
- tax services
- Founded
- 1982
- Franchising Since
- 1987
- Headquarters
- NJ
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Jackson Hewitt
This Jackson Hewitt page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Jackson Hewitt.
National footprint registry read for Jackson Hewitt
Signature read: 5,700 locations · Item 7 low $47K
Jackson Hewitt, a Corsair Capital franchise, has been franchising since 1987 - 5 years after the concept was founded in 1982 , currently with 5,700 total locations (4,200 franchised, 1,500 company-owned; 74% of the recorded total is franchised) in the business services sector, headquartered in NJ. The listed total initial investment is $47K to $96K, recorded as a low-to-high range in the registry. The registry separately records a franchise-fee field of $15K; its summary does not reproduce every Item 7 line item.
This registry summary does not carry royalty or ad-fund figures for this brand. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Jackson Hewitt. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.
Jackson Hewitt's footprint shrank over the past year, down 1.8% with 200 closures on the record. The percentage does not identify why the count changed or what it means for a specific location.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Jackson Hewitt franchise cost?
How many Jackson Hewitt locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Jackson Hewitt franchise?
Related reading for Jackson Hewitt: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Jackson Hewitt has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Jackson Hewitt's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Jackson Hewitt , both outside HQ state NJ : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($47K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (5,700 here).
What to do with this
Jackson Hewitt at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Jackson Hewitt scores 1/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $47K – $96K entry cost runs below the typical business services franchise.
- Ranks #198 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Money Mailer sits at a comparable investment level ($50K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |