Home Services · registry year 2024 · HQ NE
The Maids Franchise
A The Maids Home Services brand operating in the home services sector, franchising since 1981. According to the 2024 FDD filing for The Maids, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $85K – $156K
- Initial investment · Lower entry cost
- 3.5%
- Royalty rate · Below-average royalty
- 1,300
- Total locations · Mid-size network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry the-maids The Maids
The Maids needs $85K–$156K to open and charges a 3.5% royalty - an entry cost in line with the typical home services franchise.
- LO $85K
- HI $156K
- FEE $13K
- ROY 3.5%
- UNT 1,300
- I19 Silent
- INV# #167/223
- UNT# #78/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: ServiceMaster Clean ($86K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for The Maids (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent The Maids's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum 1.5% net unit growth (YoY) 38/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where The Maids's investment ranks nationally
The Maids's listed Item 7 low of $85K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
The Maids vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$85,000 Among the lowest lower than 76% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $13K
- Ad Fund Rate
- 1.5%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
30 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Home Services
- Subsector
- cleaning
- Founded
- 1979
- Franchising Since
- 1981
- Headquarters
- NE
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · The Maids
This The Maids page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for The Maids.
Lower-band investment fields for The Maids
Signature read: 1,300 locations · Item 7 low $85K
The Maids, a The Maids Home Services franchise, has been franchising since 1981 - 2 years after the concept was founded in 1979 , currently with 1,300 total locations (1,300 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the home services sector, headquartered in NE. The registry records a total initial investment between $85K and $156K, recorded as a low-to-high range in the registry. The registry records a separate franchise-fee field of $13K and does not list every Item 7 component in this summary.
Ongoing royalties run 3.5% of gross sales with a separate 1.5% national advertising-fund field; the two listed percentages total 5.0%. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for The Maids. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.
The unit count trend here is positive -- The Maids posted 1.5% net growth year-over-year (50 openings, 30 closures). This is a reported network-size change, not a measure of profitability, demand, or franchisee outcomes.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a The Maids franchise cost?
How many The Maids locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a The Maids franchise?
Related reading for The Maids: How to Evaluate a Franchise , The Maids has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How The Maids's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for The Maids , both outside HQ state NE : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($85K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (1,300 here).
What to do with this
The Maids at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- The Maids scores 19/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $85K – $156K entry cost runs in line with the typical home services franchise.
- Ranks #167 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- ServiceMaster Clean sits at a comparable investment level ($86K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |