Food & Beverage · registry year 2024 · HQ GA

Hooters Franchise

A Hooters of America brand operating in the food & beverage sector, franchising since 1987. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Hooters, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$1.7M – $4.3M
Initial investment · Higher entry cost
5.0%
Royalty rate · Mid-range royalty
340
Total locations · Small network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry hooters Hooters

Hooters needs $1.7M–$4.3M to open and charges a 5.0% royalty - an entry cost above the typical food & beverage franchise.

  • LO $1.7M
  • HI $4.3M
  • FEE $75K
  • ROY 5.0%
  • UNT 340
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #17/223
  • UNT# #167/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: IHOP ($1.7M)

Hooters (this)$1.7MIHOP$1.7MBuffalo Wild Wings$1.7MBurger King$1.8MBojangles$1.5MJack in the Box$1.4M
Hooters Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest food & beverage peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Hooters (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent Hooters's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

0 F
  • Network momentum -2.9% net unit growth (YoY) 0/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where Hooters's investment ranks nationally

Hooters's listed Item 7 low of $1.7M against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

Hooters vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$1,700,000 Higher than most higher than 92% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $1.7M – $4.3M
Franchise Fee
$75K
Ad Fund Rate
1.0%

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

280
Franchised
60
Company-Owned
+10
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

-2.94% growth

20 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Subsector
casual dining
Founded
1983
Franchising Since
1987
Headquarters
GA
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare Hooters against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · Hooters

This Hooters page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Hooters.

Small-network FDD fields for Hooters

Signature read: 340 locations · Item 7 low $1.7M

Hooters, a Hooters of America franchise, has been franchising since 1987 - 4 years after the concept was founded in 1983 , currently with 340 total locations (280 franchised, 60 company-owned; 82% of the recorded total is franchised) in the food & beverage sector, headquartered in GA. The listed total initial investment is $1.7M to $4.3M, with separate listed low and high values. The registry records a separate franchise-fee field of $75K and does not list every Item 7 component in this summary.

The brand charges 5.0% of gross sales in ongoing royalties with a separate 1.0% national advertising-fund field; the two listed percentages total 6.0%. Hooters has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry. Item 19 disclosure is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule.

Hooters's footprint shrank over the past year, down 2.9% with 20 closures on the record. The percentage does not identify why the count changed or what it means for a specific location.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Hooters franchise cost?
Opening a Hooters franchise takes a total initial investment of $1.7M to $4.3M. The initial franchise fee is $75K. On top of that, royalties run 5.0% of gross sales.
How many Hooters locations are there?
Hooters has 340 total locations (280 franchised, 60 company-owned). The network is contracting at 2.9% year-over-year.
What are the ongoing fees for a Hooters franchise?
A 5.0% royalty on gross sales applies to Hooters franchisees. On top of that, a 1.0% ad-fund contribution applies. These are listed ongoing fee fields, separate from the listed initial-investment range.

Related reading for Hooters: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Hooters has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

Hooters among nearby food & beverage registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 11 data points. -10000 locations0 locations10000 locations20000 locations30000 locations $1400k$1600k$1800k$2000k$2200k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) HootersBuffalo Wild WingsIHOPBurger KingBojanglesJack in the BoxApplebee'sBenihanaGolden CorralTGI FridaysKFC
Hooters among nearby food & beverage registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How Hooters's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for Hooters , both outside HQ state GA : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

Hooters at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • Hooters scores 0/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $1.7M – $4.3M entry cost runs above the typical food & beverage franchise.
  • Ranks #17 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • IHOP sits at a comparable investment level ($1.7M) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending