Food & Beverage · registry year 2024 · HQ NC
Bojangles Franchise
A Bojangles Inc brand operating in the food & beverage sector, franchising since 1979. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Bojangles, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $1.5M – $3.2M
- Initial investment · Higher entry cost
- 4.0%
- Royalty rate · Below-average royalty
- 820
- Total locations · Mid-size network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry bojangles Bojangles
Bojangles needs $1.5M–$3.2M to open and charges a 4.0% royalty - an entry cost above the typical food & beverage franchise.
- LO $1.5M
- HI $3.2M
- FEE $40K
- ROY 4.0%
- UNT 820
- I19 Silent
- INV# #19/223
- UNT# #106/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Jack in the Box ($1.4M)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Bojangles (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Bojangles's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum 2.4% net unit growth (YoY) 48/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Bojangles's investment ranks nationally
Bojangles's listed Item 7 low of $1.5M against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Bojangles vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$1,500,000 Higher than most higher than 91% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $40K
- Ad Fund Rate
- 1.0%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
20 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Food & Beverage
- Subsector
- quick service restaurant
- Founded
- 1977
- Franchising Since
- 1979
- Headquarters
- NC
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Bojangles
This Bojangles page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Bojangles.
Higher-band investment fields for Bojangles
Signature read: 820 locations · Item 7 low $1.5M
Bojangles, a Bojangles Inc franchise, has been franchising since 1979 - 2 years after the concept was founded in 1977 , currently with 820 total locations (700 franchised, 120 company-owned; 85% of the recorded total is franchised) in the food & beverage sector, headquartered in NC. The listed total initial investment is $1.5M to $3.2M, using the registry's listed low and high fields. The registry records a separate franchise-fee field of $40K and does not list every Item 7 component in this summary.
Ongoing royalties run 4.0% of gross sales, plus a 1.0% national ad-fund field; the listed percentages sum to 5.0%. Bojangles has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry; the FTC Franchise Rule does not require that disclosure.
Bojangles's network is expanding: unit count grew at a 2.4% net rate over the past year (40 openings, 20 closures). The registry records both the reported percentage and the count of openings and closures when those fields are available.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Bojangles franchise cost?
How many Bojangles locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Bojangles franchise?
Related reading for Bojangles: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Bojangles has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Bojangles's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Bojangles , both outside HQ state NC : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($1.5M here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (820 here).
What to do with this
Bojangles at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Bojangles scores 24/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $1.5M – $3.2M entry cost runs above the typical food & beverage franchise.
- Ranks #19 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Jack in the Box sits at a comparable investment level ($1.4M) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |