Health & Fitness · registry year 2024 · HQ NY
Crunch Fitness Franchise
A Crunch Franchise Corp brand operating in the health & fitness sector, franchising since 2010. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Crunch Fitness, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $1.2M – $5.0M
- Initial investment · Higher entry cost
- 5.0%
- Royalty rate · Mid-range royalty
- 350
- Total locations · Small network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry crunch-fitness Crunch Fitness
Crunch Fitness needs $1.2M–$5.0M to open and charges a 5.0% royalty - an entry cost above the typical health & fitness franchise.
- LO $1.2M
- HI $5.0M
- FEE $25K
- ROY 5.0%
- UNT 350
- I19 Silent
- INV# #27/223
- UNT# #163/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Planet Fitness ($970K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Crunch Fitness (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Crunch Fitness's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum 7.1% net unit growth (YoY) 100/100 · A
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Crunch Fitness's investment ranks nationally
Crunch Fitness's listed Item 7 low of $1.2M against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Crunch Fitness vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$1,200,000 Higher than most higher than 87% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $25K
- Ad Fund Rate
- 3.0%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
15 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Health & Fitness
- Subsector
- gym
- Founded
- 1989
- Franchising Since
- 2010
- Headquarters
- NY
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Crunch Fitness
This Crunch Fitness page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Crunch Fitness.
Small-network FDD fields for Crunch Fitness
Signature read: 350 locations · Item 7 low $1.2M
Crunch Fitness, a Crunch Franchise Corp franchise, has been franchising since 2010 - 21 years after the concept was founded in 1989 , currently with 350 total locations (340 franchised, 10 company-owned; 97% of the recorded total is franchised) in the health & fitness sector, headquartered in NY. The registry records a total initial investment between $1.2M and $5.0M, with separate listed low and high values. A franchise-fee field of $25K is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.
Royalty payments here are set at 5.0% of gross sales, plus a 3.0% national ad-fund field; the listed percentages sum to 8.0%. Crunch Fitness has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry; the FTC Franchise Rule does not require that disclosure.
Crunch Fitness's network is expanding: unit count grew at a 7.1% net rate over the past year (40 openings, 15 closures). The registry records both the reported percentage and the count of openings and closures when those fields are available.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Crunch Fitness franchise cost?
How many Crunch Fitness locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Crunch Fitness franchise?
Related reading for Crunch Fitness: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Crunch Fitness has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Crunch Fitness's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Crunch Fitness , both outside HQ state NY : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($1.2M here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (350 here).
What to do with this
Crunch Fitness at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Crunch Fitness scores 50/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $1.2M – $5.0M entry cost runs above the typical health & fitness franchise.
- Ranks #27 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Planet Fitness sits at a comparable investment level ($970K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |