Health & Fitness · registry year 2024 · HQ TX

Gold's Gym Franchise

A RSG Group brand operating in the health & fitness sector, franchising since 1980. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Gold's Gym, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$2.0M – $6.0M
Initial investment · Higher entry cost
600
Total locations · Mid-size network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry gold-s-gym Gold's Gym

Gold's Gym needs $2.0M–$6.0M to open - an entry cost above the typical health & fitness franchise.

  • LO $2.0M
  • HI $6.0M
  • FEE $30K
  • UNT 600
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #11/223
  • UNT# #130/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: Crunch Fitness ($1.2M)

Gold's Gym (this)$2.0MCrunch Fitness$1.2MPlanet Fitness$970KUFC GYM$748KOrangetheory Fitness$563KAnytime Fitness$390K
Gold's Gym Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest health & fitness peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Gold's Gym (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent Gold's Gym's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

1 F
  • Network momentum -1.7% net unit growth (YoY) 2/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where Gold's Gym's investment ranks nationally

Gold's Gym's listed Item 7 low of $2.0M against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

Gold's Gym vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$2,000,000 Higher than most higher than 94% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $2.0M – $6.0M
Franchise Fee
$30K

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

400
Franchised
200
Company-Owned
+10
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

-1.67% growth

20 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Subsector
gym
Founded
1965
Franchising Since
1980
Headquarters
TX
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare Gold's Gym against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · Gold's Gym

This Gold's Gym page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Gold's Gym.

Higher-band investment fields for Gold's Gym

Signature read: 600 locations · Item 7 low $2.0M

Gold's Gym, a RSG Group franchise, has been franchising since 1980 - 15 years after the concept was founded in 1965 , currently with 600 total locations (400 franchised, 200 company-owned; 67% of the recorded total is franchised) in the health & fitness sector, headquartered in TX. The listed total initial investment is $2.0M to $6.0M, recorded as a low-to-high range in the registry. The registry separately records a franchise-fee field of $30K; its summary does not reproduce every Item 7 line item.

Ongoing royalty and advertising-fund rates for this brand are not captured in the registry summary. Gold's Gym has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry. Item 19 disclosure is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule.

Network momentum is currently negative: Gold's Gym contracted by 1.7% year-over-year with 20 closures on the record. The registry does not attribute the change to a cause or establish an operating or financial outcome.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Gold's Gym franchise cost?
The total initial investment for a Gold's Gym franchise ranges from $2.0M to $6.0M. That includes an initial franchise fee of $30K.
How many Gold's Gym locations are there?
Gold's Gym's network totals 600 locations (400 franchisee-owned, 200 run by the company). That total is trending down, 1.7% net year-over-year.
What are the ongoing fees for a Gold's Gym franchise?
This registry does not capture a complete Item 6 and 7 fee schedule for Gold's Gym.

Related reading for Gold's Gym: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Gold's Gym has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

Gold's Gym among nearby health & fitness registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 11 data points. -2000 locations0 locations2000 locations4000 locations6000 locations $0k$500k$1000k$1500k$2000k$2500k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) Gold's GymCrunch FitnessPlanet FitnessUFC GYMOrangetheory FitnessAnytime FitnessF45 TrainingClub PilatesThe Joint ChiropracticCycleBarPure Barre
Gold's Gym among nearby health & fitness registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How Gold's Gym's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for Gold's Gym , both outside HQ state TX : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

Gold's Gym at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • Gold's Gym scores 1/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $2.0M – $6.0M entry cost runs above the typical health & fitness franchise.
  • Ranks #11 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • Crunch Fitness sits at a comparable investment level ($1.2M) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending