Food & Beverage · registry year 2024 · HQ FL

Benihana Franchise

A Safflower Holdings brand operating in the food & beverage sector, franchising since 1970. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Benihana, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$2.0M – $5.0M
Initial investment · Higher entry cost
6.0%
Royalty rate · Above-average royalty
100
Total locations · Small network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry benihana Benihana

Benihana needs $2.0M–$5.0M to open and charges a 6.0% royalty - an entry cost above the typical food & beverage franchise.

  • LO $2.0M
  • HI $5.0M
  • FEE $50K
  • ROY 6.0%
  • UNT 100
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #10/223
  • UNT# #220/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: Applebee's ($2.0M)

Benihana (this)$2.0MApplebee's$2.0MGolden Corral$2.0MTGI Fridays$2.0MCulver's$2.1MBurger King$1.8M
Benihana Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest food & beverage peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Benihana (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent Benihana's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

11 F
  • Network momentum 0.0% net unit growth (YoY) 21/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where Benihana's investment ranks nationally

Benihana's listed Item 7 low of $2.0M against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

Benihana vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$2,000,000 Higher than most higher than 94% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $2.0M – $5.0M
Franchise Fee
$50K
Ad Fund Rate
3.0%

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

55
Franchised
45
Company-Owned
+5
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

0% growth

5 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Subsector
casual dining
Founded
1964
Franchising Since
1970
Headquarters
FL
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare Benihana against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · Benihana

This Benihana page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Benihana.

Small-network FDD fields for Benihana

Signature read: 100 locations · Item 7 low $2.0M

Benihana, a Safflower Holdings franchise, has been franchising since 1970 - 6 years after the concept was founded in 1964 , currently with 100 total locations (55 franchised, 45 company-owned; 55% of the recorded total is franchised) in the food & beverage sector, headquartered in FL. The listed total initial investment is $2.0M to $5.0M, recorded as a low-to-high range in the registry. The registry records a separate franchise-fee field of $50K and does not list every Item 7 component in this summary.

The brand charges 6.0% of gross sales in ongoing royalties with a separate 3.0% national advertising-fund field; the two listed percentages total 9.0%. Benihana has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry; the FTC Franchise Rule does not require that disclosure.

The reported total is a net measure, not a complete account of individual unit changes.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Benihana franchise cost?
Opening a Benihana franchise takes a total initial investment of $2.0M to $5.0M. A $50K franchise fee is part of that total. Ongoing royalties are 6.0% of gross sales.
How many Benihana locations are there?
Benihana has 100 total locations (55 franchised, 45 company-owned). Year-over-year, the unit count is up 0.0%.
What are the ongoing fees for a Benihana franchise?
A 6.0% royalty on gross sales applies to Benihana franchisees. On top of that, a 3.0% ad-fund contribution applies. These are listed ongoing fee fields, separate from the listed initial-investment range.

Related reading for Benihana: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Benihana has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

Benihana among nearby food & beverage registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 11 data points. -5000 locations0 locations5000 locations10000 locations15000 locations20000 locations $1400k$1600k$1800k$2000k$2200k$2400k$2600k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) BenihanaApplebee'sGolden CorralTGI FridaysCulver'sBurger KingBuffalo Wild WingsHootersIHOPRed RobinBojangles
Benihana among nearby food & beverage registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How Benihana's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for Benihana , both outside HQ state FL : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

Benihana at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • Benihana scores 11/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $2.0M – $5.0M entry cost runs above the typical food & beverage franchise.
  • Ranks #10 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • Applebee's sits at a comparable investment level ($2.0M) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending