Food & Beverage · registry year 2024 · HQ TX

TGI Fridays Franchise

A Hostmore / TriArtisan brand operating in the food & beverage sector, franchising since 1971. According to the 2024 FDD filing for TGI Fridays, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$2.0M – $5.0M
Initial investment · Higher entry cost
4.0%
Royalty rate · Below-average royalty
650
Total locations · Mid-size network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry tgi-fridays TGI Fridays

TGI Fridays needs $2.0M–$5.0M to open and charges a 4.0% royalty - an entry cost above the typical food & beverage franchise.

  • LO $2.0M
  • HI $5.0M
  • FEE $50K
  • ROY 4.0%
  • UNT 650
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #13/223
  • UNT# #127/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: Applebee's ($2.0M)

TGI Fridays (this)$2.0MApplebee's$2.0MGolden Corral$2.0MBenihana$2.0MCulver's$2.1MBurger King$1.8M
TGI Fridays Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest food & beverage peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for TGI Fridays (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent TGI Fridays's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

0 F
  • Network momentum -3.1% net unit growth (YoY) 0/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where TGI Fridays's investment ranks nationally

TGI Fridays's listed Item 7 low of $2.0M against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

TGI Fridays vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$2,000,000 Higher than most higher than 94% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $2.0M – $5.0M
Franchise Fee
$50K
Ad Fund Rate
4.0%

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

600
Franchised
50
Company-Owned
+10
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

-3.08% growth

30 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Subsector
casual dining
Founded
1965
Franchising Since
1971
Headquarters
TX
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare TGI Fridays against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · TGI Fridays

This TGI Fridays page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for TGI Fridays.

Higher-band investment fields for TGI Fridays

Signature read: 650 locations · Item 7 low $2.0M

TGI Fridays, a Hostmore / TriArtisan franchise, has been franchising since 1971 - 6 years after the concept was founded in 1965 , currently with 650 total locations (600 franchised, 50 company-owned; 92% of the recorded total is franchised) in the food & beverage sector, headquartered in TX. The listed total initial investment is $2.0M to $5.0M, with separate listed low and high values. A franchise-fee field of $50K is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.

Royalty payments here are set at 4.0% of gross sales, plus a 4.0% national ad-fund field; the listed percentages sum to 8.0%. TGI Fridays has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry; the FTC Franchise Rule does not require that disclosure.

Unit count is trending down for TGI Fridays: a 3.1% net contraction year-over-year with 30 closures on the record. The registry does not attribute the change to a cause or establish an operating or financial outcome.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a TGI Fridays franchise cost?
The registry lists total initial investment of $2.0M to $5.0M for a TGI Fridays franchise. That includes an initial franchise fee of $50K. Ongoing royalties are 4.0% of gross sales.
How many TGI Fridays locations are there?
TGI Fridays has 650 total locations (600 franchised, 50 company-owned). That total is trending down, 3.1% net year-over-year.
What are the ongoing fees for a TGI Fridays franchise?
A 4.0% royalty on gross sales applies to TGI Fridays franchisees. There is also a 4.0% advertising fund contribution. These listed fee fields are separate from the listed initial-investment range.

Related reading for TGI Fridays: How to Evaluate a Franchise , TGI Fridays has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

TGI Fridays among nearby food & beverage registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 11 data points. -5000 locations0 locations5000 locations10000 locations15000 locations20000 locations $1400k$1600k$1800k$2000k$2200k$2400k$2600k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) TGI FridaysApplebee'sBenihanaGolden CorralCulver'sBurger KingBuffalo Wild WingsHootersIHOPRed RobinBojangles
TGI Fridays among nearby food & beverage registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How TGI Fridays's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for TGI Fridays , both outside HQ state TX : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

TGI Fridays at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • TGI Fridays scores 0/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $2.0M – $5.0M entry cost runs above the typical food & beverage franchise.
  • Ranks #13 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • Applebee's sits at a comparable investment level ($2.0M) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending