Automotive · registry year 2024 · HQ NC

CARSTAR Franchise

A Driven Brands brand operating in the automotive sector, franchising since 1994. According to the 2024 FDD filing for CARSTAR, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$500K – $1.2M
Initial investment · Higher entry cost
6.0%
Royalty rate · Above-average royalty
700
Total locations · Mid-size network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry carstar CARSTAR

CARSTAR needs $500K–$1.2M to open and charges a 6.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical automotive franchise.

  • LO $500K
  • HI $1.2M
  • FEE $10K
  • ROY 6.0%
  • UNT 700
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #54/223
  • UNT# #118/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: Christian Brothers Automotive ($495K)

CARSTAR (this)$500KChristian Brothers Automotive$495KMaaco$344KGrease Monkey$300KZiebart$254KJiffy Lube$238K
CARSTAR Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest automotive peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for CARSTAR (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent CARSTAR's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

18 F
  • Network momentum 1.4% net unit growth (YoY) 36/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where CARSTAR's investment ranks nationally

CARSTAR's listed Item 7 low of $500K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

CARSTAR vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$500,000 Higher than most higher than 74% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $500K – $1.2M
Franchise Fee
$10K

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

700
Franchised
0
Company-Owned
+30
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

1.43% growth

20 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Sector
Automotive
Subsector
collision repair
Founded
1989
Franchising Since
1994
Headquarters
NC
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare CARSTAR against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · CARSTAR

This CARSTAR page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for CARSTAR.

Higher-band investment fields for CARSTAR

Signature read: 700 locations · Item 7 low $500K

CARSTAR, a Driven Brands franchise, has been franchising since 1994 - 5 years after the concept was founded in 1989 , currently with 700 total locations (700 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the automotive sector, headquartered in NC. The listed total initial investment is $500K to $1.2M, with separate listed low and high values. The registry separately records a franchise-fee field of $10K; its summary does not reproduce every Item 7 line item.

Ongoing royalties run 6.0% of gross sales. CARSTAR has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry; the FTC Franchise Rule does not require that disclosure.

Network momentum is currently positive: CARSTAR added units at a 1.4% net rate year-over-year (30 openings, 20 closures). The registry records both the reported percentage and the count of openings and closures when those fields are available.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a CARSTAR franchise cost?
Opening a CARSTAR franchise takes a total initial investment of $500K to $1.2M. A $10K franchise fee is part of that total. On top of that, royalties run 6.0% of gross sales.
How many CARSTAR locations are there?
There are 700 CARSTAR locations in operation, of which 700 are franchised. Year-over-year, the unit count is up 1.4%.
What are the ongoing fees for a CARSTAR franchise?
CARSTAR's ongoing royalty is 6.0% of gross sales. These are listed ongoing fee fields, separate from the listed initial-investment range.

Related reading for CARSTAR: How to Evaluate a Franchise , CARSTAR has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

CARSTAR among nearby automotive registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 11 data points. 0 locations500 locations1000 locations1500 locations2000 locations2500 locations $-2000k$0k$2000k$4000k$6000k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) CARSTARChristian Brothers AutomotiveMaacoGrease MonkeyZiebartJiffy LubeTake 5 Oil ChangeValvoline Instant Oil ChangeMidasMeineke Car CareTommy's Express Car Wash
CARSTAR among nearby automotive registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How CARSTAR's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for CARSTAR , both outside HQ state NC : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

CARSTAR at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • CARSTAR scores 18/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $500K – $1.2M entry cost runs below the typical automotive franchise.
  • Ranks #54 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • Christian Brothers Automotive sits at a comparable investment level ($495K) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending