Automotive · registry year 2024 · HQ CO

Grease Monkey Franchise

A Grease Monkey Franchising brand operating in the automotive sector, franchising since 1978. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Grease Monkey, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$300K – $650K
Initial investment · Mid-range entry cost
6.0%
Royalty rate · Above-average royalty
320
Total locations · Small network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry grease-monkey Grease Monkey

Grease Monkey needs $300K–$650K to open and charges a 6.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical automotive franchise.

  • LO $300K
  • HI $650K
  • FEE $35K
  • ROY 6.0%
  • UNT 320
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #81/223
  • UNT# #172/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: Maaco ($344K)

Grease Monkey (this)$300KMaaco$344KZiebart$254KJiffy Lube$238KTake 5 Oil Change$183KValvoline Instant Oil Change$158K
Grease Monkey Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest automotive peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Grease Monkey (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent Grease Monkey's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

11 F
  • Network momentum 0.0% net unit growth (YoY) 21/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where Grease Monkey's investment ranks nationally

Grease Monkey's listed Item 7 low of $300K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

Grease Monkey vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$300,000 Around the middle lower than 37% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $300K – $650K
Franchise Fee
$35K

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

320
Franchised
0
Company-Owned
+10
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

0% growth

10 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Sector
Automotive
Subsector
oil change
Founded
1978
Franchising Since
1978
Headquarters
CO
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare Grease Monkey against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · Grease Monkey

This Grease Monkey page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Grease Monkey.

Small-network FDD fields for Grease Monkey

Signature read: 320 locations · Item 7 low $300K

Grease Monkey, a Grease Monkey Franchising franchise, has been franchising since 1978 , currently with 320 total locations (320 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the automotive sector, headquartered in CO. The listed total initial investment is $300K to $650K, with separate listed low and high values. A franchise-fee field of $35K is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.

Royalty payments here are set at 6.0% of gross sales. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Grease Monkey. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.

A flat net count is reported here without a causal interpretation in the registry.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Grease Monkey franchise cost?
The total initial investment for a Grease Monkey franchise ranges from $300K to $650K. A $35K franchise fee is part of that total. On top of that, royalties run 6.0% of gross sales.
How many Grease Monkey locations are there?
Grease Monkey's network totals 320 locations (320 franchisee-owned). Year-over-year, the unit count is up 0.0%.
What are the ongoing fees for a Grease Monkey franchise?
A 6.0% royalty on gross sales applies to Grease Monkey franchisees. Both listed fee fields are separate from the listed initial-investment range.

Related reading for Grease Monkey: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Grease Monkey has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

Grease Monkey among nearby automotive registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 11 data points. 0 locations500 locations1000 locations1500 locations2000 locations2500 locations $-2000k$0k$2000k$4000k$6000k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) Grease MonkeyMaacoZiebartJiffy LubeTake 5 Oil ChangeChristian Brothers AutomotiveCARSTARValvoline Instant Oil ChangeMidasMeineke Car CareTommy's Express Car Wash
Grease Monkey among nearby automotive registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How Grease Monkey's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for Grease Monkey , both outside HQ state CO : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

Grease Monkey at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • Grease Monkey scores 11/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $300K – $650K entry cost runs below the typical automotive franchise.
  • Ranks #81 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • Maaco sits at a comparable investment level ($344K) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending