Food & Beverage · registry year 2024 · HQ CA
The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Franchise
A International Coffee & Tea brand operating in the food & beverage sector, franchising since 1988. According to the 2024 FDD filing for The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $335K – $820K
- Initial investment · Mid-range entry cost
- 6.0%
- Royalty rate · Above-average royalty
- 1,200
- Total locations · Mid-size network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry the-coffee-bean-tea-leaf The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf needs $335K–$820K to open and charges a 6.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical food & beverage franchise.
- LO $335K
- HI $820K
- FEE $40K
- ROY 6.0%
- UNT 1,200
- I19 Silent
- INV# #78/223
- UNT# #86/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Wingstop ($336K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum -0.8% net unit growth (YoY) 11/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf's investment ranks nationally
The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf's listed Item 7 low of $335K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$335,000 Around the middle lower than 35% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $40K
- Ad Fund Rate
- 3.0%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
40 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Food & Beverage
- Subsector
- coffee tea
- Founded
- 1963
- Franchising Since
- 1988
- Headquarters
- CA
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
This The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf.
What the The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf FDD reveals
Signature read: 1,200 locations · Item 7 low $335K
The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, a International Coffee & Tea franchise, has been franchising since 1988 - 25 years after the concept was founded in 1963 , currently with 1,200 total locations (1,100 franchised, 100 company-owned; 92% of the recorded total is franchised) in the food & beverage sector, headquartered in CA. This editorial registry lists a total initial investment from $335K to $820K, using the registry's listed low and high fields. The registry records a separate franchise-fee field of $40K and does not list every Item 7 component in this summary.
Royalty payments here are set at 6.0% of gross sales; the registry also records a 3.0% advertising-fund field, for a 9.0% arithmetic total. The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry; the FTC Franchise Rule does not require that disclosure.
The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf's footprint shrank over the past year, down 0.8% with 40 closures on the record. The registry does not attribute the change to a cause or establish an operating or financial outcome.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf franchise cost?
How many The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf franchise?
Related reading for The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf: How to Evaluate a Franchise , The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf , both outside HQ state CA : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($335K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (1,200 here).
What to do with this
The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf scores 6/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $335K – $820K entry cost runs below the typical food & beverage franchise.
- Ranks #78 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Wingstop sits at a comparable investment level ($336K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |