Retail · registry year 2024 · HQ OH

True Value Franchise

A True Value Co brand operating in the retail sector, franchising since 1960. According to the 2024 FDD filing for True Value, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$450K – $1.5M
Initial investment · Higher entry cost
4,400
Total locations · Large network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry true-value True Value

True Value needs $450K–$1.5M to open - an entry cost above the typical retail franchise.

  • LO $450K
  • HI $1.5M
  • UNT 4,400
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #63/223
  • UNT# #29/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: Elements Massage ($443K)

True Value (this)$450KElements Massage$443KPhenix Salon Suites$460KDrybar$430KPet Supplies Plus$483KMassage Envy$520K
True Value Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest retail peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for True Value (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent True Value's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

8 F
  • Network momentum -0.5% net unit growth (YoY) 16/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where True Value's investment ranks nationally

True Value's listed Item 7 low of $450K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

True Value vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$450,000 Around the middle lower than 28% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $450K – $1.5M

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

4,400
Franchised
0
Company-Owned
+80
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

-0.45% growth

100 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Sector
Retail
Subsector
hardware
Founded
1948
Franchising Since
1960
Headquarters
OH
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare True Value against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · True Value

This True Value page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for True Value.

Large-network capital outlay for True Value

Signature read: 4,400 locations · Item 7 low $450K

True Value, a True Value Co franchise, has been franchising since 1960 - 12 years after the concept was founded in 1948 , currently with 4,400 total locations (4,400 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the retail sector, headquartered in OH. The registry records a total initial investment between $450K and $1.5M, recorded as a low-to-high range in the registry. The registry separately records a franchise-fee field; its summary does not reproduce every Item 7 line item.

Royalty and ad-fund rates were not captured in this registry summary. True Value has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry. Item 19 disclosure is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule.

True Value's footprint shrank over the past year, down 0.5% with 100 closures on the record. This is a network-count observation only; the registry does not record reasons for openings or closures.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a True Value franchise cost?
The registry lists total initial investment of $450K to $1.5M for a True Value franchise.
How many True Value locations are there?
There are 4,400 True Value locations in operation, of which 4,400 are franchised. That total is trending down, 0.5% net year-over-year.
What are the ongoing fees for a True Value franchise?
This registry does not capture a complete Item 6 and 7 fee schedule for True Value.

Related reading for True Value: How to Evaluate a Franchise , True Value has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

True Value among nearby retail registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 11 data points. -2000 locations0 locations2000 locations4000 locations6000 locations8000 locations $200k$300k$400k$500k$600k$700k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) True ValueElements MassagePhenix Salon SuitesDrybarPet Supplies PlusMassage EnvyHand & Stone MassageMY SALON SuiteEuropean Wax CenterAce HardwarePlay It Again Sports
True Value among nearby retail registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How True Value's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for True Value , both outside HQ state OH : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

True Value at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • True Value scores 8/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $450K – $1.5M entry cost runs above the typical retail franchise.
  • Ranks #63 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • Elements Massage sits at a comparable investment level ($443K) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending