Food & Beverage · registry year 2024 · HQ CA
Fatburger Franchise
A FAT Brands brand operating in the food & beverage sector, franchising since 1981. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Fatburger, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $700K – $1.4M
- Initial investment · Higher entry cost
- 6.0%
- Royalty rate · Above-average royalty
- 200
- Total locations · Small network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry fatburger Fatburger
Fatburger needs $700K–$1.4M to open and charges a 6.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical food & beverage franchise.
- LO $700K
- HI $1.4M
- FEE $50K
- ROY 6.0%
- UNT 200
- I19 Silent
- INV# #44/223
- UNT# #205/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Round Table Pizza ($700K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Fatburger (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Fatburger's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum 5.0% net unit growth (YoY) 76/100 · C
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Fatburger's investment ranks nationally
Fatburger's listed Item 7 low of $700K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Fatburger vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$700,000 Higher than most higher than 79% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $50K
- Ad Fund Rate
- 2.0%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
10 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Food & Beverage
- Subsector
- quick service restaurant
- Founded
- 1947
- Franchising Since
- 1981
- Headquarters
- CA
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Fatburger
This Fatburger page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Fatburger.
Small-network FDD fields for Fatburger
Signature read: 200 locations · Item 7 low $700K
Fatburger, a FAT Brands franchise, has been franchising since 1981 - 34 years after the concept was founded in 1947 , currently with 200 total locations (200 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the food & beverage sector, headquartered in CA. The listed total initial investment is $700K to $1.4M, recorded as a low-to-high range in the registry. A franchise-fee field of $50K is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.
Ongoing royalties run 6.0% of gross sales; the registry also records a 2.0% advertising-fund field, for a 8.0% arithmetic total. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Fatburger. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.
The unit count trend here is positive -- Fatburger posted 5.0% net growth year-over-year (20 openings, 10 closures). The registry records both the reported percentage and the count of openings and closures when those fields are available.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Fatburger franchise cost?
How many Fatburger locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Fatburger franchise?
Related reading for Fatburger: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Fatburger has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Fatburger's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Fatburger , both outside HQ state CA : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($700K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (200 here).
What to do with this
Fatburger at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Fatburger scores 38/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $700K – $1.4M entry cost runs below the typical food & beverage franchise.
- Ranks #44 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Round Table Pizza sits at a comparable investment level ($700K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |