Retail · registry year 2024 · HQ MA
Fantastic Sams Franchise
A Dessange International brand operating in the retail sector, franchising since 1976. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Fantastic Sams, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $139K – $310K
- Initial investment · Mid-range entry cost
- 6.0%
- Royalty rate · Above-average royalty
- 1,000
- Total locations · Mid-size network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry fantastic-sams Fantastic Sams
Fantastic Sams needs $139K–$310K to open and charges a 6.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical retail franchise.
- LO $139K
- HI $310K
- FEE $30K
- ROY 6.0%
- UNT 1,000
- I19 Silent
- INV# #131/223
- UNT# #94/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: The UPS Store ($138K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Fantastic Sams (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Fantastic Sams's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum -3.0% net unit growth (YoY) 0/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Fantastic Sams's investment ranks nationally
Fantastic Sams's listed Item 7 low of $139K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Fantastic Sams vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$139,000 Lower than most lower than 60% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $30K
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
50 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Retail
- Subsector
- hair salon
- Founded
- 1974
- Franchising Since
- 1976
- Headquarters
- MA
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Fantastic Sams
This Fantastic Sams page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Fantastic Sams.
What the Fantastic Sams FDD reveals
Signature read: 1,000 locations · Item 7 low $139K
Fantastic Sams, a Dessange International franchise, has been franchising since 1976 - 2 years after the concept was founded in 1974 , currently with 1,000 total locations (1,000 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the retail sector, headquartered in MA. This editorial registry lists a total initial investment from $139K to $310K, with separate listed low and high values. The registry separately records a franchise-fee field of $30K; its summary does not reproduce every Item 7 line item.
Royalty payments here are set at 6.0% of gross sales. Fantastic Sams has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry; the FTC Franchise Rule does not require that disclosure.
Network momentum is currently negative: Fantastic Sams contracted by 3.0% year-over-year with 50 closures on the record. This is a network-count observation only; the registry does not record reasons for openings or closures.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Fantastic Sams franchise cost?
How many Fantastic Sams locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Fantastic Sams franchise?
Related reading for Fantastic Sams: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Fantastic Sams has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Fantastic Sams's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Fantastic Sams , both outside HQ state MA : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($139K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (1,000 here).
What to do with this
Fantastic Sams at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Fantastic Sams scores 0/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $139K – $310K entry cost runs below the typical retail franchise.
- Ranks #131 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- The UPS Store sits at a comparable investment level ($138K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |