Education · registry year 2024 · HQ GA
Sylvan Learning Franchise
A Educate Online LLC brand operating in the education sector, franchising since 1983. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Sylvan Learning, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $71K – $176K
- Initial investment · Lower entry cost
- 8.3%
- Royalty rate · Above-average royalty
- 700
- Total locations · Mid-size network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry sylvan-learning Sylvan Learning
Sylvan Learning needs $71K–$176K to open and charges a 8.3% royalty - an entry cost below the typical education franchise.
- LO $71K
- HI $176K
- FEE $47K
- ROY 8.3%
- UNT 700
- I19 Silent
- INV# #181/223
- UNT# #123/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Kumon ($74K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Sylvan Learning (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Sylvan Learning's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum -1.4% net unit growth (YoY) 5/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Sylvan Learning's investment ranks nationally
Sylvan Learning's listed Item 7 low of $71K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Sylvan Learning vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$71,000 Among the lowest lower than 83% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $47K
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
30 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Education
- Subsector
- tutoring
- Founded
- 1979
- Franchising Since
- 1983
- Headquarters
- GA
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Sylvan Learning
This Sylvan Learning page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Sylvan Learning.
Lower-band investment fields for Sylvan Learning
Signature read: 700 locations · Item 7 low $71K
Sylvan Learning, a Educate Online LLC franchise, has been franchising since 1983 - 4 years after the concept was founded in 1979 , currently with 700 total locations (700 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the education sector, headquartered in GA. The registry records a total initial investment between $71K and $176K, with separate listed low and high values. The registry records a separate franchise-fee field of $47K and does not list every Item 7 component in this summary.
The brand charges 8.3% of gross sales in ongoing royalties. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Sylvan Learning. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.
Network momentum is currently negative: Sylvan Learning contracted by 1.4% year-over-year with 30 closures on the record. The percentage does not identify why the count changed or what it means for a specific location.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Sylvan Learning franchise cost?
How many Sylvan Learning locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Sylvan Learning franchise?
Related reading for Sylvan Learning: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Sylvan Learning has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Sylvan Learning's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Sylvan Learning , both outside HQ state GA : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($71K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (700 here).
What to do with this
Sylvan Learning at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Sylvan Learning scores 3/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $71K – $176K entry cost runs below the typical education franchise.
- Ranks #181 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Kumon sits at a comparable investment level ($74K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |