Food & Beverage · registry year 2024 · HQ CO
Red Robin Franchise
A Red Robin International brand operating in the food & beverage sector, franchising since 1978. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Red Robin, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $2.4M – $5.9M
- Initial investment · Higher entry cost
- 4.0%
- Royalty rate · Below-average royalty
- 510
- Total locations · Mid-size network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry red-robin Red Robin
Red Robin needs $2.4M–$5.9M to open and charges a 4.0% royalty - an entry cost above the typical food & beverage franchise.
- LO $2.4M
- HI $5.9M
- FEE $35K
- ROY 4.0%
- UNT 510
- I19 Silent
- INV# #5/223
- UNT# #138/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Culver's ($2.1M)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Red Robin (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Red Robin's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum -2.0% net unit growth (YoY) 0/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Red Robin's investment ranks nationally
Red Robin's listed Item 7 low of $2.4M against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Red Robin vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$2,400,000 Higher than most higher than 98% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $35K
- Ad Fund Rate
- 0.5%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
20 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Food & Beverage
- Subsector
- casual dining
- Founded
- 1969
- Franchising Since
- 1978
- Headquarters
- CO
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Red Robin
This Red Robin page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Red Robin.
Higher-band investment fields for Red Robin
Signature read: 510 locations · Item 7 low $2.4M
Red Robin, a Red Robin International franchise, has been franchising since 1978 - 9 years after the concept was founded in 1969 , currently with 510 total locations (185 franchised, 325 company-owned; 36% of the recorded total is franchised) in the food & beverage sector, headquartered in CO. This editorial registry lists a total initial investment from $2.4M to $5.9M, with separate listed low and high values. The registry records a separate franchise-fee field of $35K and does not list every Item 7 component in this summary.
Ongoing royalties run 4.0% of gross sales, plus a 0.5% national ad-fund field; the listed percentages sum to 4.5%. Red Robin has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry. Item 19 disclosure is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule.
Network momentum is currently negative: Red Robin contracted by 2.0% year-over-year with 20 closures on the record. The registry does not attribute the change to a cause or establish an operating or financial outcome.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Red Robin franchise cost?
How many Red Robin locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Red Robin franchise?
Related reading for Red Robin: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Red Robin has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Red Robin's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Red Robin , both outside HQ state CO : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($2.4M here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (510 here).
What to do with this
Red Robin at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Red Robin scores 0/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $2.4M – $5.9M entry cost runs above the typical food & beverage franchise.
- Ranks #5 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Culver's sits at a comparable investment level ($2.1M) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |