travel-hospitality · registry year 2024 · HQ NJ

Super 8 Franchise

A Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand operating in the travel-hospitality sector, franchising since 1974. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Super 8, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$2.1M – $6.8M
Initial investment · Higher entry cost
5.5%
Royalty rate · Mid-range royalty
2,500
Total locations · Large network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry super-8 Super 8

Super 8 needs $2.1M–$6.8M to open and charges a 5.5% royalty - an entry cost below the typical travel-hospitality franchise.

  • LO $2.1M
  • HI $6.8M
  • FEE $35K
  • ROY 5.5%
  • UNT 2,500
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #8/223
  • UNT# #50/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: Days Inn ($2.2M)

Super 8 (this)$2.1MDays Inn$2.2MExpedia CruiseShipCenters$135KLa Quinta$4.1MCruise Planners$2KHoliday Inn$9.0M
Super 8 Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest travel-hospitality peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Super 8 (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent Super 8's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

4 F
  • Network momentum -1.2% net unit growth (YoY) 7/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where Super 8's investment ranks nationally

Super 8's listed Item 7 low of $2.1M against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

Super 8 vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$2,100,000 Higher than most higher than 96% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $2.1M – $6.8M
Franchise Fee
$35K
Ad Fund Rate
4.5%

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

2,500
Franchised
0
Company-Owned
+50
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

-1.2% growth

80 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Subsector
budget hotel
Founded
1974
Franchising Since
1974
Headquarters
NJ
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare Super 8 against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · Super 8

This Super 8 page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Super 8.

Large-network capital outlay for Super 8

Signature read: 2,500 locations · Item 7 low $2.1M

Super 8, a Wyndham Hotels & Resorts franchise, has been franchising since 1974 , currently with 2,500 total locations (2,500 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the travel-hospitality sector, headquartered in NJ. The registry records a total initial investment between $2.1M and $6.8M, using the registry's listed low and high fields. A franchise-fee field of $35K is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.

Royalty payments here are set at 5.5% of gross sales, plus a 4.5% national ad-fund field; the listed percentages sum to 10.0%. Super 8 has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry; the FTC Franchise Rule does not require that disclosure.

Network momentum is currently negative: Super 8 contracted by 1.2% year-over-year with 80 closures on the record. The registry does not attribute the change to a cause or establish an operating or financial outcome.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Super 8 franchise cost?
The registry lists total initial investment of $2.1M to $6.8M for a Super 8 franchise. The initial franchise fee is $35K. On top of that, royalties run 5.5% of gross sales.
How many Super 8 locations are there?
There are 2,500 Super 8 locations in operation, of which 2,500 are franchised. The network is contracting at 1.2% year-over-year.
What are the ongoing fees for a Super 8 franchise?
Super 8 charges a 5.5% royalty on gross sales. On top of that, a 4.5% ad-fund contribution applies. These are listed ongoing fee fields, separate from the listed initial-investment range.

Related reading for Super 8: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Super 8 has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

Super 8 among nearby travel-hospitality registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 7 data points. 0 locations1000 locations2000 locations3000 locations $-5000k$0k$5000k$10000k$15000k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) Super 8Days InnLa QuintaHoliday InnHampton InnExpedia CruiseShipCentersCruise Planners
Super 8 among nearby travel-hospitality registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How Super 8's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for Super 8 , both outside HQ state NJ : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

Super 8 at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • Super 8 scores 4/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $2.1M – $6.8M entry cost runs below the typical travel-hospitality franchise.
  • Ranks #8 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • Days Inn sits at a comparable investment level ($2.2M) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending