Health & Fitness · registry year 2024 · HQ TX

Curves Franchise

A Curves International brand operating in the health & fitness sector, franchising since 1995. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Curves, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$37K – $77K
Initial investment · Lower entry cost
5.0%
Royalty rate · Mid-range royalty
2,500
Total locations · Large network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry curves Curves

Curves needs $37K–$77K to open and charges a 5.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical health & fitness franchise.

  • LO $37K
  • HI $77K
  • ROY 5.0%
  • UNT 2,500
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #203/223
  • UNT# #49/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: Burn Boot Camp ($152K)

Curves (this)$37KBurn Boot Camp$152KSnap Fitness$157KStretchLab$160KPure Barre$194KCycleBar$195K
Curves Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest health & fitness peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Curves (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent Curves's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

0 F
  • Network momentum -2.0% net unit growth (YoY) 0/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where Curves's investment ranks nationally

Curves's listed Item 7 low of $37K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

Curves vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$37,000 Among the lowest lower than 93% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $37K – $77K

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

2,500
Franchised
0
Company-Owned
+50
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

-2% growth

100 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Subsector
gym
Founded
1992
Franchising Since
1995
Headquarters
TX
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare Curves against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · Curves

This Curves page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Curves.

National footprint registry read for Curves

Signature read: 2,500 locations · Item 7 low $37K

Curves, a Curves International franchise, has been franchising since 1995 - 3 years after the concept was founded in 1992 , currently with 2,500 total locations (2,500 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the health & fitness sector, headquartered in TX. The registry records a total initial investment between $37K and $77K, with separate listed low and high values. A franchise-fee field is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.

The brand charges 5.0% of gross sales in ongoing royalties. Curves has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry. Item 19 disclosure is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule.

Unit count is trending down for Curves: a 2.0% net contraction year-over-year with 100 closures on the record. The registry does not attribute the change to a cause or establish an operating or financial outcome.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Curves franchise cost?
The total initial investment for a Curves franchise ranges from $37K to $77K. On top of that, royalties run 5.0% of gross sales.
How many Curves locations are there?
There are 2,500 Curves locations in operation, of which 2,500 are franchised. The network is contracting at 2.0% year-over-year.
What are the ongoing fees for a Curves franchise?
Curves charges a 5.0% royalty on gross sales. These are listed ongoing fee fields, separate from the listed initial-investment range.

Related reading for Curves: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Curves has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

Curves among nearby health & fitness registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 11 data points. 0 locations2000 locations4000 locations6000 locations $0k$200k$400k$600k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) CurvesBurn Boot CampSnap FitnessStretchLabPure BarreCycleBarThe Joint ChiropracticClub PilatesF45 TrainingAnytime FitnessOrangetheory Fitness
Curves among nearby health & fitness registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How Curves's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for Curves , both outside HQ state TX : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

Curves at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • Curves scores 0/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $37K – $77K entry cost runs below the typical health & fitness franchise.
  • Ranks #203 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • Burn Boot Camp sits at a comparable investment level ($152K) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending