Business Services · registry year 2024 · HQ VA
Liberty Tax Service Franchise
A Liberty Tax Inc brand operating in the business services sector, franchising since 1997. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Liberty Tax Service, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $58K – $92K
- Initial investment · Lower entry cost
- 14.0%
- Royalty rate · Above-average royalty
- 2,600
- Total locations · Large network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry liberty-tax-service Liberty Tax Service
Liberty Tax Service needs $58K–$92K to open and charges a 14.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical business services franchise.
- LO $58K
- HI $92K
- FEE $40K
- ROY 14.0%
- UNT 2,600
- I19 Silent
- INV# #188/223
- UNT# #47/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: ActionCOACH ($56K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Liberty Tax Service (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Liberty Tax Service's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum -1.9% net unit growth (YoY) 0/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Liberty Tax Service's investment ranks nationally
Liberty Tax Service's listed Item 7 low of $58K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Liberty Tax Service vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$58,000 Among the lowest lower than 86% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $40K
- Ad Fund Rate
- 5.0%
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
100 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Business Services
- Subsector
- tax services
- Founded
- 1972
- Franchising Since
- 1997
- Headquarters
- VA
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Liberty Tax Service
This Liberty Tax Service page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Liberty Tax Service.
National footprint registry read for Liberty Tax Service
Signature read: 2,600 locations · Item 7 low $58K
Liberty Tax Service, a Liberty Tax Inc franchise, has been franchising since 1997 - 25 years after the concept was founded in 1972 , currently with 2,600 total locations (2,600 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the business services sector, headquartered in VA. The registry records a total initial investment between $58K and $92K, using the registry's listed low and high fields. A franchise-fee field of $40K is recorded separately, while the registry summary does not reproduce the full Item 7 schedule.
Ongoing royalties run 14.0% of gross sales; the registry also records a 5.0% advertising-fund field, for a 19.0% arithmetic total. Liberty Tax Service has no Item 19 financial-performance field in this registry. Item 19 disclosure is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule.
Unit count is trending down for Liberty Tax Service: a 1.9% net contraction year-over-year with 100 closures on the record. The registry does not attribute the change to a cause or establish an operating or financial outcome.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Liberty Tax Service franchise cost?
How many Liberty Tax Service locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Liberty Tax Service franchise?
Related reading for Liberty Tax Service: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Liberty Tax Service has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Liberty Tax Service's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Liberty Tax Service , both outside HQ state VA : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($58K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (2,600 here).
What to do with this
Liberty Tax Service at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Liberty Tax Service scores 0/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $58K – $92K entry cost runs below the typical business services franchise.
- Ranks #188 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- ActionCOACH sits at a comparable investment level ($56K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |