Home Services · registry year 2024 · HQ UT
Chem-Dry Franchise
A Harris Research Inc brand operating in the home services sector, franchising since 1978. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Chem-Dry, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $56K – $158K
- Initial investment · Lower entry cost
- 3,300
- Total locations · Large network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry chem-dry Chem-Dry
Chem-Dry needs $56K–$158K to open - an entry cost below the typical home services franchise.
- LO $56K
- HI $158K
- FEE $24K
- UNT 3,300
- I19 Silent
- INV# #190/223
- UNT# #36/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: U.S. Lawns ($50K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Chem-Dry (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Chem-Dry's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum 0.6% net unit growth (YoY) 27/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Chem-Dry's investment ranks nationally
Chem-Dry's listed Item 7 low of $56K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Chem-Dry vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$56,000 Among the lowest lower than 86% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $24K
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
80 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Home Services
- Subsector
- carpet cleaning
- Founded
- 1977
- Franchising Since
- 1978
- Headquarters
- UT
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Chem-Dry
This Chem-Dry page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Chem-Dry.
National footprint registry read for Chem-Dry
Signature read: 3,300 locations · Item 7 low $56K
Chem-Dry, a Harris Research Inc franchise, has been franchising since 1978 - 1 years after the concept was founded in 1977 , currently with 3,300 total locations (3,300 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the home services sector, headquartered in UT. The listed total initial investment is $56K to $158K, using the registry's listed low and high fields. The registry separately records a franchise-fee field of $24K; its summary does not reproduce every Item 7 line item.
This registry summary does not carry royalty or ad-fund figures for this brand. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Chem-Dry. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.
Network momentum is currently positive: Chem-Dry added units at a 0.6% net rate year-over-year (100 openings, 80 closures). This is a reported network-size change, not a measure of profitability, demand, or franchisee outcomes.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Chem-Dry franchise cost?
How many Chem-Dry locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Chem-Dry franchise?
Related reading for Chem-Dry: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Chem-Dry has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Chem-Dry's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Chem-Dry , both outside HQ state UT : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($56K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (3,300 here).
What to do with this
Chem-Dry at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Chem-Dry scores 14/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $56K – $158K entry cost runs below the typical home services franchise.
- Ranks #190 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- U.S. Lawns sits at a comparable investment level ($50K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |