Retail · registry year 2024 · HQ MO

Hallmark Franchise

A Hallmark Cards brand operating in the retail sector, franchising since 1985. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Hallmark, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.

$40K – $200K
Initial investment · Lower entry cost
1,800
Total locations · Large network

FDD outlay schedule

Registry hallmark Hallmark

Hallmark needs $40K–$200K to open - an entry cost below the typical retail franchise.

  • LO $40K
  • HI $200K
  • UNT 1,800
  • I19 Silent
  • INV# #200/223
  • UNT# #62/223

Nearest Item 7 peer: 7-Eleven ($37K)

Hallmark (this)$40K7-Eleven$37KGNC$55KMinuteman Press$74KGreat Clips$137KSupercuts$138K
Hallmark Item 7 listed-low neighbourhood vs nearest retail peers

Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Hallmark (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →

Franchise Opportunity Health Score

How healthy and transparent Hallmark's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.

1 F
  • Network momentum -1.7% net unit growth (YoY) 2/100 · F
  • Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F

Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.

Subscribe (RSS)

Where Hallmark's investment ranks nationally

Hallmark's listed Item 7 low of $40K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.

Hallmark vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment

Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus

$40,000 Among the lowest lower than 91% of 218 franchise brands

Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low

Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31

Investment Overview

Investment Range $40K – $200K

Revenue Data (Item 19)

Item 19 Not Disclosed

This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.

Network Size & Growth

1,800
Franchised
0
Company-Owned
+20
Opened (Last Year)

Net Growth Rate

Year-over-year unit change

-1.67% growth

50 locations closed in the last reporting year

Quick Facts

Sector
Retail
Subsector
gifts
Founded
1910
Franchising Since
1985
Headquarters
MO
FDD Year
2024
Item 19
Not Disclosed

Compare

Compare Hallmark against other franchises side-by-side

Compare Franchises

Important Notice · Hallmark

This Hallmark page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Hallmark.

National footprint registry read for Hallmark

Signature read: 1,800 locations · Item 7 low $40K

Hallmark, a Hallmark Cards franchise, has been franchising since 1985 - 75 years after the concept was founded in 1910 , currently with 1,800 total locations (1,800 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the retail sector, headquartered in MO. The registry records a total initial investment between $40K and $200K, with separate listed low and high values. The registry records a separate franchise-fee field and does not list every Item 7 component in this summary.

Ongoing royalty and advertising-fund rates for this brand are not captured in the registry summary. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Hallmark. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.

Hallmark's footprint shrank over the past year, down 1.7% with 50 closures on the record. The registry does not attribute the change to a cause or establish an operating or financial outcome.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Hallmark franchise cost?
Opening a Hallmark franchise takes a total initial investment of $40K to $200K.
How many Hallmark locations are there?
There are 1,800 Hallmark locations in operation, of which 1,800 are franchised. That total is trending down, 1.7% net year-over-year.
What are the ongoing fees for a Hallmark franchise?
This registry does not capture a complete Item 6 and 7 fee schedule for Hallmark.

Related reading for Hallmark: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Hallmark has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.

Hallmark among nearby retail registry records: listed entry cost and network size Scatter plot of 11 data points. -20000 locations0 locations20000 locations40000 locations60000 locations80000 locations100000 locations $0k$50k$100k$150k$200k Listed initial investment low ($000) Total locations (Item 20) Hallmark7-ElevenGNCMinuteman PressGreat ClipsSupercutsThe UPS StoreFantastic SamsPak MailPostNetSnap-on Tools
Hallmark among nearby retail registry records: listed entry cost and network size

Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.

How Hallmark's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)

Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size

Two data-derived peer sets for Hallmark , both outside HQ state MO : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.

What to do with this

Hallmark at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.

  • Hallmark scores 1/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
  • Its $40K – $200K entry cost runs below the typical retail franchise.
  • Ranks #200 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
  • 7-Eleven sits at a comparable investment level ($37K) in the same sector. Compare

Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.

Editorial comparison registry; a source filing is not linked to this record. Verify the current FDD before relying on a figure.

Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending