Automotive · registry year 2024 · HQ FL
Midas Franchise
A TBC Corp brand operating in the automotive sector, franchising since 1956. According to the 2024 FDD filing for Midas, this is an editorial comparison record; it does not reproduce the brand's current FDD.
- $153K – $457K
- Initial investment · Mid-range entry cost
- 3.0%
- Royalty rate · Below-average royalty
- 1,800
- Total locations · Large network
FDD outlay schedule
Registry midas Midas
Midas needs $153K–$457K to open and charges a 3.0% royalty - an entry cost below the typical automotive franchise.
- LO $153K
- HI $457K
- FEE $30K
- ROY 3.0%
- UNT 1,800
- I19 Silent
- INV# #126/223
- UNT# #64/223
Same-sector Item 7 peers
Nearest Item 7 peer: Meineke Car Care ($151K)
Same-sector Item 7 neighbourhood for Midas (registry year 2024). Listed lows only - not a profit, cost-of-living, or suitability claim. Verify the current FDD before relying on these figures. How we place brands →
Franchise Opportunity Health Score
How healthy and transparent Midas's franchise system looks, from 2 of 2 tracked dimensions.
- Network momentum -1.1% net unit growth (YoY) 8/100 · F
- Financial disclosure Item 19 not disclosed 0/100 · F
Benchmarked against the 223-brand tracked corpus (p10-p90 range per dimension); a higher score means a growing unit count and a disclosed Item 19. See how we place brands.
Where Midas's investment ranks nationally
Midas's listed Item 7 low of $153K against every one of the 218 tracked franchise brands with a disclosed initial investment. Listed figures only, verify in the current FDD before relying on them.
Midas vs all tracked franchise brands by listed investment
Initial investment low (FDD Item 7), PlainFranchise brand corpus
$153,000 Lower than most lower than 57% of 218 franchise brands
Franchise brands, banded by listed Item 7 low
Each bar is a $0.001K-wide band; taller bars hold more franchise brands. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source PlainFranchise editorial comparison registry · 2024-12-31
Investment Overview
- Franchise Fee
- $30K
Revenue Data (Item 19)
Item 19 Not Disclosed
This franchisor did not provide financial performance data in their FDD. This is common, disclosure is optional.
Network Size & Growth
Net Growth Rate
Year-over-year unit change
40 locations closed in the last reporting year
Quick Facts
- Sector
- Automotive
- Subsector
- repair
- Founded
- 1956
- Franchising Since
- 1956
- Headquarters
- FL
- FDD Year
- 2024
- Item 19
- Not Disclosed
Important Notice · Midas
This Midas page is a registry comparison record, not a verified FDD extract. It does not establish suitability, operating costs, profitability, or expected results for Midas.
National footprint registry read for Midas
Signature read: 1,800 locations · Item 7 low $153K
Midas, a TBC Corp franchise, has been franchising since 1956 , currently with 1,800 total locations (1,800 franchised, 0 company-owned; 100% of the recorded total is franchised) in the automotive sector, headquartered in FL. The listed total initial investment is $153K to $457K, using the registry's listed low and high fields. The registry separately records a franchise-fee field of $30K; its summary does not reproduce every Item 7 line item.
Royalty payments here are set at 3.0% of gross sales. No Item 19 financial-performance field is recorded for Midas. This registry does not infer a financial outcome from that absence.
Unit count is trending down for Midas: a 1.1% net contraction year-over-year with 40 closures on the record. The registry does not attribute the change to a cause or establish an operating or financial outcome.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Midas franchise cost?
How many Midas locations are there?
What are the ongoing fees for a Midas franchise?
Related reading for Midas: How to Evaluate a Franchise , Midas has no Item 19 in this registry, diligence without a financial performance representation.
Snapshot uses the registry's listed Item 7 initial-investment low and Item 20 location-count fields. It is a descriptive comparison, not a ranking or investment recommendation.
How Midas's Item 7 and Item 19 fields are labeled (expand)
Nationwide brands with similar investment or network size
Two data-derived peer sets for Midas , both outside HQ state FL : nearest Item 7 lows and nearest total-location counts, not the same-sector roster below.
Similar listed investment
Nearest Item 7 lows ($153K here).
Similar network size
Nearest total location counts (1,800 here).
What to do with this
Midas at a glance, drawn from the same figures above.
- Midas scores 4/100 (F) on our composite opportunity read, combining net unit growth and Item 19 financial-disclosure transparency.
- Its $153K – $457K entry cost runs below the typical automotive franchise.
- Ranks #126 of 223 listed franchises by initial investment. See rankings
- Meineke Car Care sits at a comparable investment level ($151K) in the same sector. Compare
Editorial comparison registry, not a source-linked FDD record. Verify the current FDD before relying on any figure.
Read our methodology - what this registry can and cannot establish.
Source: PlainFranchise editorial registry Record-level FDD source link and retrieval date pending
| Publisher | PlainFranchise |
| Sources | Public state franchise disclosure registries and FDD filings |